Students in regalia entering auditorium

GSBS and SPPH celebrated joint commencement ceremony May 17

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) and School of Public and Population Health (SPPH) hosted a joint commencement ceremony on Friday, May 17, 2024, in the Levin Hall Main Auditorium on the Galveston Campus.

This year’s commencement speaker was Dr. Ronak Shah, who serves as director of the Aerospace Medicine Division and provides oversight of the Residency Program in Aerospace Medicine. He is also responsible for a team of over 30 physicians and scientists who provide medical and research support to NASA in the United States and Russia. The mace-bearer was Dr. Scott C. Weaver, chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. He holds the John Sealy Distinguished University Chair in Human Infections and Immunity and serves as director of the Institute for Human Infections & Immunity and scientific director of the Galveston National Laboratory. Since joining UTMB in 1994, Dr. Weaver has been a dedicated leader in education, scientific discovery, and service to the academic community.

The ceremony was livestreamed and will be rebroadcast. Please see the GSBS commencement page or the SPPH commencement page for details and to view the ceremony once the playback is ready.

All News Categories