Center for Obesity and Metabolic Surgery

UTMB > Programs > Obesity

Bariatric Surgery Support Groups

Our Bi-monthly support groups provide a secure, warm setting for patients undergoing the process of lifetime diet and lifestyle changes that can improve surgery outcomes are necessary to achieve enduring weight loss.

Our Bariatric Support Groups will give you a great opportunity to discuss personal or professional issues that arise from surgery or from a history of obesity. In addition, they allow you to surround yourself with people who understand and support your goals, which directly increase your chances of long-term success.
Each group meeting is facilitated by our bariatric dietitian and program coordinator and/or one of our bariatric surgeons, medical director, nurse practitioners, or bariatric nurses.

Support Groups are Changing in 2015!

Bi-monthly Meetings

Support groups will meet more often now- every 2 to 3 weeks on a Thursday from 6-7pm, *unless we host a guest speaker on a different night.

Open Format

Instead of scheduled topics, most of our meetings will be open format. You can anonymously offer suggestions of what issues you might be struggling with. Now you decide how you want support group to best serve your needs.

Accountability

We encourage you to take ownership for your health goals and results. You can get weighed at every meeting. We will also provide you with a small notebook to record your weight and goals at each meeting.

Peer Mentors

Patients who have “walked in your shoes” are available to mentor you throughout the weight loss journey. They are easy to reach by text, phone, e-mail, or social media.  

Walk & Talk

When the weather is nice outside we’ll walk around the pond adjacent to the building.

Light Snacks

We know you’re hungry by evening time so we’ll have healthy snacks & water available. Bring a healthy recipe or grocery food find to share!

We will meet in the Center for Obesity & Metabolic Surgery clinic unless otherwise notified. Meeting time is 6-7pm.

Below is our 2015 Center for Obesity and Metabolic Surgery Support Group schedule.
Dates and topics are subject to change. Updates are posted online at www.utmb.edu/weightloss or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/UTMBObesityCenter.

Thursday, March 26
Wednesday, April 22*
Thursday, April 30
Thursday, May 14
Thursday, May 28
Thursday, June 11
Thursday, June 25
Thursday, July 16
Thursday, July 30
Thursday, August 13

Thursday, August 27
Thursday, September 17
Thursday, September 24
Thursday, October 15
Thursday, October 29
Thursday, November 12
Thursday, November 19
Thursday, December 10
Thursday, December 17

Regular Meeting Time: 6:00-7:00 p.m.

UTMB Specialty Care Center at Victory Lakes
2240 Gulf Freeway South
2nd Floor, Rm 2.402  
League City, TX  77573
Please contact us if you have any questions: (832) 505-1500 or email obesity.center@utmb.edu 

If you have any questions about Center for Obesity and Metabolic Surgery Bariatric Support Groups, please contact our Center at 832-505-1500 or send email to Obesity.Center@utmb.edu.
 

Support UTMB | For UTMB Employees | Site Index | Privacy Policy | Required Links | Contact Us

Copyright © 2015 The University of Texas Medical Branch • Member, Texas Medical Center ®
Managed by UTMB Health Marketing and Communications. Contact us.
301 University Blvd., Galveston, TX 77555-0144